The Ashland County Planning Department

The Ashland County Planning Department, which performs the administrative duties of the Ashland County Planning Commission, is currently administered by Ashland Soil and Water Conservation District. To contact the Planning Department, please see the contact information in the right-hand column of the page.

The Planning Department is under the authority of the Ashland County Commissioners and is responsible for reviewing and approving all lot splits under 20 acres in the unincorporated parts of Ashland County, Ohio.

The set of rules that govern the process of splitting lots is known as the Subdivision Regulations of Ashland County (Ashland County Engineering Code). These rules were originally adopted by the Ashland County Commissioners in 1995 and amended and adopted in January 14, 2010.

The Ashland County Planning Commission

The Ashland County Planning Commission oversees and coordinates development in unincorporated areas of Ashland County. The Commission has the authority to make studies, plans, recommendations, and reports concerning the physical, social, environmental, and economic characteristics as well as functions, services, and other aspects of Ashland County.

The Commission usually meets on the second Wednesday of the month at 7:00 PM in the Visitor Center Community Room at Freer Field, 1264 South Center St., Ashland, OH 44805. These meetings are public and anyone is welcome to attend.

The membership of the Commission is composed of the Board of Ashland County Commissioners (3), or their alternates, and 8 other County residents, or their alternates, who are appointed by the Board of Commissioners for a total of 11 Commission members.

View the Ashland County Planning Commission By Laws

View the Ashland County Planning Commission Members/Officers/Alternates/Terms



Published on  18.09.2023